New Look 6105

Hello non existent readers! What have I been up to, none of you ask?

Well, as usual, finishing NONE OF THE THINGS.

Well I did get about this far in my linen button up

Its hemmed soooo badly and I hate the sleeves. I am just mad at it so it can sit on the mannequin for awhile while I sulk at it.

To make myself feel better I finally tried New Look 6105. It’s a dart less collared loose blouse.

I have a burning hatred for New Look and I don’t have a very good reason. Everyone tells me they love New Look! Well, everyone who is narrow shouldered and a bit rounder in the body than I am. (Some people are made of circles, some of triangles and some, like me, are made entirely of twigs and used gum.)

New Look and I have been fighting for years. Yet I keep trying them. And cursing them. How dare they tempt me with such pretty pattern covers only to have enough ease to sneak the entire snack bar into the theatre. And the shoulder slope of a worn pillow. I SAID IT NEW LOOK. EVEN THOUGH YOU TOTALLY HELPED ME. I AM UNGRATEFUL.

No really, New Look the company (I thiiink owned by simplicity now?) was real sweet about my seething hatred, offering me replacements for my discomfort and everything. I am truly ungrateful.

moving on!

I had this salwar I got from the rubbish bin at my local Vinnies. They threw an entire bah of salwar and kameez away; a lot that matched. This one didn’t have a pair but I managed to give away all the ones that did.

I have a few left and most are really beaded so I thought I’d try New Look 6105 with something just heavily embroidered instead. Better!

I had to cut a size FOUR because the ease is ridoculous. At least this time the shoulder is meant to be dropped so it actually fit me normally (ha!) so I got a cute top in the end. but this is EIGHT SIZEZ less ease than it tells me to cut for, people!

I made the collar from the leftover side seams instead of the one provided, mostly cause I cut the collar on the wrong fold (doh!). I tried it anyway but it bubbled so I had to scrap it. sad panda! The scraps off the sides were perfect for a Mandarin-esque collar. I only lost two inches of embroidery because of that!

The embroidery was THICK! I’m glad I didn’t put the collar band deeper in the embroidery. Also this pattern has an awful method for finishing the neckline. I didn’t mention that in my review. oops. I have NO idea how youre not supposed to not pinch the fabric into a non existent seam by the method they describe. I hand sewed it down and hid the stitches in the embroidery to make it work.

Now I’m on a pair of McCalls 2707

But the zipper directions are HORRIBLE.

You have got to be kidding me….

Leave a comment